Dismiss Notice
Welcome to
Pinewood Derby Online, a forum for questions and discussions about everyone's favorite gravity powered racers!
CLICK HERE to register as a member today for full access to the forum, it's fast, simple, and absolutely free!

Secret Oil Process

Discussion in 'Building tips' started by birddog, Mar 3, 2013.

1. birddog

birddog Pinewood Ninja

OK, I'm trying to get a car ready for a race in one week where we are allowed to run oil I've never tried oil before, so I purchased the DD4H oil secrets DVD and will attempt to use that secret process.

My problem is, one of the components of that process, the one where you are supposed to buy something from Lowes, has changed.

It seems the manufacturer of that component has changed the ingrediants and you can no longer get the exact component listed in the DVD.

Now, I'm trying to be careful here as I believe this information is only available via the DVD, so I don't want to disclose anything on some public board.

My question is, is there an approved substitute that can be used? Rather that post the approved sub, maybe somebody can send me a message?

thanks,

birddog

2. 5KidsRacing

5KidsRacing PWD Royalty Pro Racer Pro Race Winner National Champion

I think the demonstration and showing you first hand how to do each step of the process is the real value in the DVD.... I don't think saying that DD4H oil or Dupont Teflon Multi Use Blue can spray is a problem.... Is that what you are talking about? The Dupont Blue can spray?

3. 5KidsRacing

5KidsRacing PWD Royalty Pro Racer Pro Race Winner National Champion

So I just looked it up and you are right, both of the cans that I have are the old style with the "Dry Wax" feature... This change was made way back in October of 2011...

Dupont says....

NOTE: FORMULATION CHANGE!